• Subscribe

Meet the team

Please feel free to contact our staff with story ideas, news tips, suggestions, or feedback.

Managing editor

Alisa Alering, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN, US

Originally trained as a librarian, Alisa loves tracking down the science behind her stories and learning something new about technology every day. With previous experience as a freelance writer and photo editor, she has held positions at Indiana University Press, PBS, and Google and earned degrees from Penn State and Indiana University. She particularly enjoys writing about women and diversity in technology, digital humanities, and the intersection of science and the natural world.


Sarah Engel, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN, US

Sarah currently serves as editor-in-chief within the IT Communications Office at Indiana University. She leads a team primarily focused on grant-funded research and network-enabled science, as well as high-level communications for the university community. She also serves as a contributing editor for Open Science Grid (OSG) Communications. Sarah previously worked in publishing before turning to non-profit and IT communications. She graduated with honors from the University of Chicago, where she studied literature, philosophy, and religion. (Photo courtesy Bonnie Burke, Bonnie & Lauren.)

Past editors

  • Lance Farrell, managing editor, January 2015 - November 2017
  • Andrew Purcell, editor-in-chief, August 2012 - July 2015
  • Amber Harmon, US editor, May 2012 - December 2014
  • Adrian Giordani, interim European editor and editor-in-chief, April 2012 - August 2012
  • Miriam Boon, US editor, July 2009 - June 2012
  • Vivian Tiän-Tiän Chang, AP editor, 2012
  • Jacqueline Hayes, EU editor, April 2011-April 2012
  • Dan Drollette, EU editor, May 2008 - April 2011
  • Anne Heavey, US editor, May 2008 - July 2009
  • Cristy Burne, editor-in-chief, 6 June 2007 - 7 May 2008
  • Danielle Venton, editor-in-chief, 24 January 2007 - 6 June 2007
  • Katie Yurkewicz, editor-in-chief, 16 November 2006 (first issue) - 24 January 2007

Copyright © 2018 Science Node ™  |  Privacy Notice  |  Sitemap

Disclaimer: While Science Node ™ does its best to provide complete and up-to-date information, it does not warrant that the information is error-free and disclaims all liability with respect to results from the use of the information.